Post-classical history

New Islamic Dynasties: A Chronological and Genealogical Manual

New Islamic Dynasties: A Chronological and Genealogical Manual

Those coming to the study of Islamic history for the first time face a baffling array of rulers and dynasties in the many different areas of Islam. This book provides a comprehensive and reliable reference source for all students of history and culture. It lists by name the rulers of all the principal Islamic dynasties with Hijri and Common Era dates. Each dynastic list is followed by a brief assessment of its historical significance, and by a short bibliography. Fully updated and substantially revised and expanded for a modern audience, this handbook is based upon Bosworth's renowned The Islamic Dynasties, first published in 1967 and revised in 1980. As well as increasing the number of dynasties covered from 82 to 186, innovations in the new edition include much more extensive listings of honorific titles and of filiations, allowing genealogical connections within dynasties to be made.


Chapter One: The Caliphs

1. The Rightly-Guided or ‘Patriarchal’ or ‘Orthodox’ Caliphs (al-Khulafā’ al-Rāshidūn)

2. The Umayyad Caliphs

3. The ‘Abbāsid Caliphs

Chapter Two: Spain

4. The Spanish Umayyads

5. The Mulūk al-Ṭawā’if or Reyes de Taifas in Spain

6. The Banū Ghāniya

7. The Naṣrids or Banu ’l-Aḥmar

Chapter Three: North Africa

8. The Idrīsids

9. The Rustamids

10. The Midrārids

11. The Aghlabids

12. The Kalbids

13. The Zīrids and Ḥammādids

14. The Almoravids or al-Murābiṭūn

15. The Almohads or al-Muwaḥḥidūn

16. The Marīnids

17. The ‘Abd al-Wādids or Zayyānids or Ziyānids

18. The Ḥafṣids

19. The Waṭṭāsids

20. The Sa‘did Sharīfs

21. The ‘Alawid or Filālī Sharīfs

22. The Ḥusaynid Beys

23. The Qaramānlīs

24. The Sauūsī Chiefs and Rulers

Chapter Four: Egypt and Syria

25. The Ṭūlūnids

26. The Ikhshīdids

27. The Fāṭimids

28. The Mirdāsids

29. The chief dā‘īs of the Nizārī Ismā‘īlīs or Assassins in Syria

30. The Ayyūbids

31. The Mamlūks

32. The Ma‘n Amīrs of Lebanon

33. The Shihāb Amīrs of Lebanon

34. The house of Muḥammad ‘Alī

Chapter Five: Iraq and Jazīra before the Seljuqs

35. The Ḥamdānids

36. The Mazyadids

37. The Marwānids

38. The ‘Uqaylids

39. The Numayrids

Chapter Six: The Arabian Peninsula

40. The Carmathian or Qarmaṭī Rulers of the line of Abū Sa‘īd al-Jannābī

41. The Zaydī Imāms of Yemen

42. The Ziyādids

43. The Yu‘firids or Ya‘furids

44. The Najāḥids

45. The Ṣulayḥids

46. The Zuray‘ids or Banu ’l-Karam

47. The Hamdānids

48. The Mahdids

49. The Rasūlids

50. The Ṭāhirids

51. The Āl al-Julandā

52. The Mukramids

53. The Ya‘rubids

54. The Āl Bū Sa‘īd

55. The Āl Su‘ūd (Sa‘ūd)

56. The Hāshimite Sharīfs of Mecca from the ‘Awn family

57. The Āl Rashīd

Chapter Seven: West Africa

58. The Keita Kings of Mali

59. The Kings of Songhay

60. The Rulers of Kanem and Bornu or Borno

61. The Fulani Rulers in Hausaland, as Sultans and Caliphs of Sokoto

Chapter Eight: East Africa and the Horn of Africa

62. The Sultans of Kilwa

63. The Nabhānī Rulers of Pate

64. The Mazrui (Mazrū‘ī) Liwalis or Governors of Mombasa

65. The Āl Bū Sa‘īd in East Africa

66. The Sultans of Harar

Chapter Nine: The Caucasus and the Western Persian Lands before the Seljuqs

67. The Sharwān Shdāhs

68. The Hāshimids

69. The Justānids

70. The Sājids

71. The Musāfirids or Sallārids

72. The Rawwādids

73. The Shaddādids

74. The Dulafids

75. The Būyids or Buwayhids

76. The Ḥasanūyids or Ḥasanawayhids

77. The ‘Annāzids

78. The Kākūyids or Kākawayhids

79. The Dābūyid Ispahbadhs

80. The Bāwandid Ispahbadhs

81. The Ziyārids

Chapter Ten: The Eastern Persian Lands, Transoxania and Khwārazm before the Seljuqs

82. The Ṭāhirids and Muṣ‘abids

83. The Sāmānids

84. The Ṣaffārids

85. The Bānījūrids or Abū Dāwūdids

86. The Sīmjūrids

87. The llyāsids

88. The Muḥtājids

89. The Khwārazm Shāhs

90. The Qarakhānids

Chapter Eleven: The Seljuqs, their Dependants and the Atabegs

91. The Seljuqs

92. The Börids or Būrids

93. The Zangids

94. The Begtiginids

95. The Lu’lu’ids

96. The Artuqids

97. The Shāh-i Armanids

98. The Aḥmadīlīs

99. The Eldigüzids or Ildegizids

100. The Bādūspānids

101. The Nizārī Ismā‘īlīs or Assassins in Persia

102. The Hazāraspids

103. The Salghurids

104. The Atabegs of Yazd

105. The Qutlughkhānids

106. The Maliks of Nīrnrūz

Chapter Twelve: The Turks in Anatolia

107. The Seljuqs of Rūm

108. The Dānishmendids

109. The Mengüjekids

110. The Saltuqids

111. The Qarasï (Karasï) Oghullarï

112. The Ṣarukhān Oghullarï

113. The Aydïn Oghullarï

114. The Menteshe Oghullarï

115. The Inanj Oghullarï

116. The Germiyan Oghullarï

117. The Ṣāḥib Atā Oghullarï

118. The Ḥamīd Oghullarï and the Tekke Oghullarï

119. The Beys of Alanya

120. The Ashraf (Eshref) Oghullarï

121. The Jāndār Oghullarï or Isfandiyār (Isfendiyār) Oghullarï

122. The Parwāna Oghullarï

123. The Chobān Oghullarï

124. The Qaramān Oghullarï or Qaramānids

125. The Eretna Oghullarï

126. The Qāḍī Burhān al-Dīn Oghullarï

127. The Tāj al-Dīn Oghullarï

128. The Ramaḍān Oghullarï

129. The Dulghadïr Oghullarï or Dhu ’l-Qadrids

130. The Ottomans or Osmanlis

Chapter Thirteen: The Mongols and their Central Asia and Eastern European Successors

131. The Mongol Great Khāns, Descendants of Ögedey and Toluy, later the Yüan Dynasty of China

132. The Chaghatayids, Descendants of Chaghatay

133. The Il Khānids, Descendants of Qubilay’s brother Hülegü

134. The Khāns of the Golden Horde, Descendants of Jochi

135. The Giray Khāns of the Crimea, Descendants of Jochi

136. The Khāns of Astrakhan (Astrakhān, Ashtarkhān)

137. The Khāns of Kazan (Qāzān)

138. The Khāns of Qāsimov

Chapter Fourteen: Persia after the Mongols

139. The Karts or Kurts

140. The Muẓaffarids

141. The Inju’ids

142. The Jalāyirids

143. The Sarbadārids

144. The Tīmūrids

145. The Qara Qoyunlu

146. The Aq Qoyunlu

147. The Musha‘sha‘ids

148. The Ṣafawids

149. The Afshārids

150. The Zands

151. The Qājārs

152. The Pahlawīs

Chapter Fifteen: Central Asia after the Mongols

153. The Shïbānids (Shaybānids) or Abu ‘l-Khayrids

154. The Toqay Temürids or Jānids or Ashtarkhānids

155. The Mangïts

156. The Qungrats or Inaqids

157. The Mings

Chapter Sixteen: Afghanistan and the Indian Subcontinent

158. The Ghaznawids

159. The Ghūrids

160. The Delhi Sultans

161. The Governors and Sultans of Bengal

162. The Sultans of Kashmīr

163. The Sultans of Gujarāt

164. The Sharqī Sultans of Jawnpur

165. The Sultans and Rulers of Mālwa

166. The Sultans of Ma‘bar or Madura

167. The Bahmanids

168. The Fārūqī Rulers of Khāndesh

169. The Barīd Shāhīs

170. The ‘Ādil Shāhis

171. The Niẓām Shāhīs

172. The ‘Imād Shāhīs

173. The Quṭb Shāhīs

174. The Arghūns

175. The Mughal Emperors

176. The Nawwāb-Viziers and Nawwāb-Nāẓims of Bengal

177. The Nawwāb-Viziers and Kings of Oudh (Awadh)

178. The Nāẓims of Hyderabad (Haydarābād)

179. The Muslim Rulers in Mysore (Mahisur, Maysūr)

180. The Abdālī or Durrānī Rulers and Kings of Afghanistan

Chapter Seventeen: South-East Asia and Indonesia

181. The Rulers of Malacca (Melaka)

182. The Sultans of Acheh (Atjèh, Aceh)

183. The Rulers of Mataram

184. The Susuhunans of Surakarta

185. The Sultans of Jogjakarta

186. The Sultans of Brunei

If you find an error or have any questions, please email us at Thank you!