Biographies & Memoirs

Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention

Malcolm X: A Life of Reinvention

Filled with startling new information and shocking revelations, Malcolm X unfolds a sweeping story of race and class in America. Reaching into Malcolm's troubled youth, it traces a path from his parents' activism as followers of Marcus Garvey through his own work with the Nation of Islam and rise in the world of black nationalism, and culminates in the never-before-told true story of his assassination. Malcolm X is a stunning achievement, the definitive work on one of our greatest advocates for social change.

Prologue: Life Beyond the Legend

Chapter 1: “Up, You Mighty Race!” - 1925-1941

Chapter 2: The Legend of Detroit Red - 1941-January 1946

Chapter 3: Becoming “X” - January 1946–August 1952

Chapter 4: “They Don’t Come Like the Minister” - August 1952–May 1957

Chapter 5: “Brother, a Minister Has to Be Married” - May 1957-March 1959

Chapter 6: “The Hate That Hate Produced” - March 1959–January 1961

Chapter 7: “As Sure As God Made Green Apples” - January 1961-May 1962

Chapter 8: From Prayer to Protest - May 1962-March 1963

Chapter 9: “He Was Developing Too Fast” - April-November 1963

Chapter 10: “The Chickens Coming Home to Roost” - December 1, 1963-March 12, 1964

Chapter 11: An Epiphany in the Hajj - March 12-May 21, 1964

Chapter 12: “Do Something About Malcolm X” - May 21-July 11, 1964

Chapter 13: “In the Struggle for Dignity” - July 11-November 24, 1964

Chapter 14: “Such a Man Is Worthy of Death” - November 24, 1964-February 14, 1965

Chapter 15: Death Comes on Time - February 14-February 21, 1965

Chapter 16: Life After Death

Epilogue: Reflections on a Revolutionary Vision




If you find an error or have any questions, please email us at Thank you!